The First Fracking in Lancashire.

Last week I found what is probably the first frack in Lancashire, or to be exact, the first case of Hydraulic Fracturing. It was carried out unsupervised and neither officials from the Environment Agency nor Lancashire County Council checked to see if the Regulations were being followed to the letter , or even to the spirit (but as we shall see it was the Spirit.)

In my enthusiasm I took several photos as it was clearly a big frack

It was near the top of the Upper Bowland Shales in a gully in the forest of Bowland  and the effects can be seen in these photos. the technique was very different from Cuadrilla as the fluid was less controlled. Its composition was different too, as it contained a vast amount of sand, possibly in excess of 50%. However the chemical composition apart from the water and sand (or more specifically sand and feldspars) was not apparent, contrary from the present recommended practice of DECC and the EA.  I can only guess what they were.

019

This photo shows the frack which covered a wide area at least 10 metres across and goes way beyond my mobility aid.

017

Here we can see the big cracks opened up through fracking and are 10 cm across. I could not determine how deep they were as below the frack all was covered with soil and vegetation

016

Here the fracks are not so clear but they are stopped by the thick band of sandstone (possibly Hind sandstone).

020

This last photo shows several frack deposits taking the form of 10 cm bands either at 85 deg or 70 deg to my mobility aid.

I have since discovered that these fracks,  or hydraulic fracturing, is common throughout Lancashire and there may even be some under my house – or your house if you live in Lancashire.

I could not determine if the fracking was accompanied by large earthquakes as occurred at Preese Hall, but I did ascertain the date which was 10 o’clock in the morning of 31st February 332,043,152 B.C.  (There were more than 365 days in a year then). I followed the methods laid down by Archbishop Ussher in his Annales of 1656, but my results don’t quite tally with his.

Jacobus_ussher

 

There are several concerns here. Most serious is that it is clear that regulations were not being followed and thus we need to call in the Lancashire expert on fracking regulations . We can leave it to him to ensure that the culprit is severely castigated.  I will let him find out who the culprit is.

However, putting my other hat/beretta on, I soon ascertained who the culprit was  and then realised He was quite entitled to frack without checking whether there were any regulations. Even so, I expect Mr Regulations to take Him to task. The actual meeting should be interesting

creation

Has your house already been fracked?

2 thoughts on “The First Fracking in Lancashire.

  1. alister whitlock

    Excellent spoof, Michael! Incidentally, there are quite a few natural methane seepages associated with the Bowland and other Carboniferous shales. One of the signs is trees in valleys that have died once they reach a certain height, due to root penetration to the depth where methane in regolith remains unoxidised – eg the Irthing valley in north Cumbria. This has been used as a hydrocarbon exploration toll in parts of the US

    Like

    Reply
    1. michaelroberts4004 Post author

      Thanks. I wondered if it was silly. I have found oil seepage in Bowland shales within 3 miles of those fracks. I also wonder whether oil slicks in peat bog overlying Namurian is from peat or Namurian. I found some on Ingleborough today in peat but above the limestone. All exposure was covered (landslips?) but could be shaly stuff from Yoredale. Must check my memoir

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

