Homage to Jack Chick, (April 13, 1924 – October 23, 2016); repost of How to lie about radiometric dating, evolution, and even nuclear physics

Jack Chick produced some of the nastiest and inaccurate tracts ever written. I am sure he was a great evangelist for atheism as others of his ilk.

I reblog Paul Braterman’s blog on him which may almost qualify as a kakology. BTW I am sure my beleifs are closer to Paul’s than Chick@s !! My ethics most definitely are

Primate's Progress

Now that he is dead, let us play Jack Chick the compliment of treating his ideas as seriously as we did when he was alive. I am sure he would not have wished otherwise.

And so, in his memory (he died on Sunday) I am reposting my analysis of one of his pieces that I found particularly interesting:

How to lie about radiometric dating, evolution, and even nuclear physics

Have you heard the one about the live snail with a carbon-14 age of 3000 years? Or the lava erupted in 1800 in Hawaii with a potassium-argon age in the millions? It’s all true, true I tell you. But does this signify a major problem with radiometric dating?

Spoiler: no.

I don’t know who first dug up these examples, but they were popularised by the creationist comic-book writer Jack Chick, in a publication called “Big Daddy”. The first page, available here if…

View original post 1,741 more words

Leave a Reply

